Welcome To RecProAudio's Tweed Deluxe Speed Shop
Welcome to RecProAudio's Tweed Deluxe Speed Shop Vintage-Series Chassis Studio-Series Chassis Combo Amplifiers Head Amplifiers Kustom Art Amplifiers Contact Us About Us Tweed Deluxe Sound Files 5E3-P2P Chassis
Schiit Audio Magni 3 Review

Schiit Audio Magni 3 Headphone Amplifier being packed for return

Schiit Audio Magni 3 Headphone Amplifier - Brutalist Architecture, Brutal Response, Brutal Customer Service... and that "15-Day Money-Back Guarantee" at the bottom of their home page?" I don't think so!

Ordered on 1/10, the Schiit Audio Magni 3 headphone amplifier didn't ship until 1/23 (2 weeks?!) and wasn't received until 1/27. Much worse, however, was that upon receipt and application this amplifier did not remotely live up to its own hype, for it distorted heavily and could not adequately drive common studio headphones like the Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro (and others). Furthermore, it is clear from their [largely anonymous] responses (included below) that Schiit regards their customers with contempt. There is simply no room in today's world for such draconian customer disservice. If a product is deemed unsatisfactory by the customer, it is the obligation of any responsible vendor to make their customer whole, and easily so; anything less is bad business (bad faith). Schiit is a company that hypes its products and follows up with an RMA program that ensures they always make a buck - even when they are clearly caught out. Very cynical. Their name says it all. No thanks.

-----Original Message-----

Sent: Wednesday, January 31, 2018 9:53 AM

To: orders@schiit.com

Subject: Return Authorization

Name: xxx xxxxxxx

Order Number: xxxxx

Products: Magni 3

Reason: Does not drive my headphones adequately.

From: xxx xxxxxxx [mailto:xxxxxxxxxx@xxxxxx.xxx]

*************************************************************************************

On 1/31/2018 1:05 PM, Schiit Orders wrote:

xxx,

Your RA is approved.

Please carefully repack the item(s) you will be returning in the original shipping container with everything that shipped with the item (cables, manuals, etc.). Please ensure that that the item(s) is/are carefully packed as your refund may be reduced if your returned item(s) are damaged due to poor packing. Please wrap power cord and/or cables and pack them under the unit, as shuffling in transit causes damage to the chassis.

Please be familiar with the restocking fees associated with the return. Details are located on the product page. Shipping is not refunded.

Please send your return to:

Schiit Audio
Returns Department
24900 Anza Drive, Suite A
Valencia, CA 91355.

Please write RA:xxxxxxLZ on the outside of the package in large letters. Please print a copy of this email and place it inside of the package. We strongly recommend that you use a shipping service that includes tracking and insurance.

Please ship the item(s) you are returning within 15 days of today's date. Any items sent to us after this window of time will be returned to you unopened.

Once we receive the package, it will take about 5-7 business days before your refund is issued. All returned items must first go through an inspection and testing.

Thank You,

Laura Z.
Schiit Audio
Customer Service

*************************************************************************************

From: xxx xxxxxxx [mailto:xxxxxxxxxx@xxxxxx.xxx]
Sent: Wednesday, January 31, 2018 1:17 PM
To: Schiit Orders <orders@schiit.com>
Subject: Re: Return Authorization order xxxxx

Gentlepeople:

I don't think I should be charged a restocking fee, nor have to absorb the cost of shipping both ways, due to the fact that you misrepresent the Magni 3 amplifier on your website.

I bought your amp based upon the following statement:

"Magni 3 is ready for any headphone, from IEMs to hard-to-drive planar designs. With a full 2000mW into 32 ohms—rated in the most honest way, RMS continuous, both channels driven—Magni has tremendous reserves of power. Combined with low distortion, an exceptionally low noise floor, and switchable gain, Magni is ready for any headphone."

Your declaration above simply is not true. In my experience, your amp fell far short of providing any useful volume; and moreover, distorted very badly at even moderate listening levels. This rendered your amp unusable in my studio environment.

FYI: The headphones I used were DT770 Pro 80 Ohm and AKG 240DFs (600 ohm). Both these headphones were miserably weak in volume and totally distorted when pushed by your amp.

I tried various sources, program material, cables, etc., and it was just a big waste of my time.

Furthermore, I contacted your company with questions via email a few times and your replies were obtuse. You are supposed to be headphone experts, but I could not get a straight answer from you.

As such, I would appreciate your refunding my full purchase price, as well as provide me a return shipping label at your expense.

Please advise.

Sincerely,

xxx xxxxxxx

*************************************************************************************

On 1/31/2018 6:47 PM, Schiit Orders wrote:

Please feel free to send me a copy of the receipt showing how much you spent on return shipping. Ship it with the least expensive form of shipping that includes tracking and insurance for $99. If it is found to be defective, we will be happy to reimburse your return shipping costs as well.

From: xxx xxxxxxx [mailto:xxxxxxxxxx@xxxxxx.xxx]
Sent: Wednesday, January 31, 2018 2:39 PM
To: Schiit Orders <orders@schiit.com>
Subject: Re: Return Authorization order xxxxx

That's not good enough. You have misrepresented this product. I am prepared to tell my story online for others to learn from. Do you really want high profile negative reviews? Fair warning.

On 1/31/2018 4:44 PM, Schiit Orders wrote:

Hello xxx,

We will test the Magni 3 when we receive it in our warehouse. If it is found to be defective, we will issue a full refund. I’m sorry but we do not provide shipping labels for returns.

Laura Z
Schiit Audio
Customer Service

*************************************************************************************

From: xxx xxxxxxx [mailto:xxxxxxxxxx@xxxxxx.xxx]
Sent: Wednesday, January 31, 2018 4:22 PM
To: Schiit Orders <orders@schiit.com>
Subject: Re: Return Authorization order xxxxx

Whether or not the unit is defective is immaterial. You have either misrepresented this product, or it is defective - in either case I bear zero responsibility. As such, it is wrong for you to ask me to pay anything. Please refund me $135 within 24 hours, and I will ship the amp back to you (at my cost via FedEx and insured for $99). Otherwise, I will publish this correspondence on a dedicated website that I assure you will rank on the 1st page of Google for your keywords. At that point the above offer will be rescinded. You people have no business being in business if you can't service your customers. I am not asking for anything unreasonable here.

*************************************************************************************

On 1/31/2018 7:26 PM, Schiit Orders wrote:

We will not issue any refund until we have received the Magni 3 back in our warehouse.

*************************************************************************************

From: xxx xxxxxxx [mailto:xxxxxxxxxx@xxxxxx.xxx]
Sent: Wednesday, January 31, 2018 4:52 PM
To: Schiit Orders <orders@schiit.com>
Subject: Re: Return Authorization order xxxxx

Fine. Do you agree to refund me $135 upon receipt? I will ship tomorrow.

*************************************************************************************

We will not be issuing a refund in the amount of $135 when the original purchase only came to the amount of $111.96.

###

 

Home | About | Contact | Kustoms | Combo Amps | Heads | Studio-Series | Vintage-Series | Sound Files
Copyright © 2010 - 2018 RecProAudio - All Rights Reserved USA

Tweed Deluxe Speed Shop
| PO Box 855 | Sanibel, FL 33957 | 239-689-5941
RecProAudio and tweeddeluxe.com are not affiliated with Fender Musical Instruments Corporation
Site Service by Fabien Vegas Corporation